Originally Posted by bigzig
It just means the seller had it listed as a private auction.
Some sellers do this to shill.
Some do it to hide the price of the ended listing in feedback so you can't tell what the last item sold for if he had multiples.
Some may just have it selected on accident.
That was my initial thought, that it was a shill bid scenario, since it was only me and this one "private bidder". I mean, I came WAY over the top on a last second snipe, and it flashed green for like half a second and then... BAM! "YOU LOST"! I lost? I tripled the bid as a "just in case" because I really, really wanted it. Oh well. I was waiting for that Second Chance Offer of a few bucks less than my highest bid, then I would have known for sure it was BS.
Is there any way to know ahead of time that its a private auction? Can I see that somewhere and just missed it?
Thanks for the info and the response!