Originally Posted by usafshelland
It doesn't say that... It says two subsequent rd penalties with a bunch of examples following...
First and foremost, we all agreed to this on the ESPN rules post:
1st round pick --> Kept as a 1st round pick
2nd round pick --> Kept as a 2nd round pick
3rd-5th round pick --> Kept as a 3rd-5th round pick respectively
So to your first argument of keeping a first rounder without losing a 1st and only keeping for 2nd and 3rd, breaks this rule.
For the second 1st rounder, 2 subsequent rounds would be the 2nd and 3rd. You cant bypass this rule by trading your picks away. Thats just unfair to all other owners.