Blowout Cards Forums

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASEBALL

BASEBALL Post your Baseball Cards Hobby Talk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2012, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Ebay buying question..

There's a topps chrome auto that I really want, and I made 3 offers without one counter..I went up to 80% of his asking price..if he had made a counter, then at least I would have known where he was at. Anyways, I am new to buying on Ebay and didn't realize three is the max. Is my only option left buy it now? Also, is that a common practice to not counter and let the buyer know your "price?"
91Braves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:11 PM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 91Braves View Post
There's a topps chrome auto that I really want, and I made 3 offers without one counter..I went up to 80% of his asking price..if he had made a counter, then at least I would have known where he was at. Anyways, I am new to buying on Ebay and didn't realize three is the max. Is my only option left buy it now? Also, is that a common practice to not counter and let the buyer know your "price?"
My opinion is, first offer, give yourself so room. 2nd offer, go for broke. Some sellers don't bother after the 1st offer if #2 isn't a good offer.
HadWayTooMuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)

Ya, I'm kicking myself now..he didn't know I was that serious about buying I guess..probably gonna do buy it now tonight..sucks though
Old 11-02-2012, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 91Braves View Post
Ya, I'm kicking myself now..he didn't know I was that serious about buying I guess..probably gonna do buy it now tonight..sucks though
Let's say I have a card for $100 or BO and $100 is a bit high, but no ridiculous.

If you offer me $30, I'll just ignore you, period the end.

If you offer me a more reasonable number, even if it's too low, I'll at least counter you.