Blowout Cards Forums
This Just In

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > BASEBALL

BASEBALL Post your Baseball Cards Hobby Talk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2013, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Imac7065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,206
Default Someone explain the Marlins / Giants call to me...

Right now the Marlins and Giants are playing in the 11th... but I feel the Marlins already won this game and don't understand why it's still going on...

Back in the 5th Gregor Blanco hit was would appear to be a ground rule double.. but it was ruled fan interference... what boggles my mind is Barry Zito was on FIRST... yet allowed to score on this play. It wasn't a ground rule double which would allow him to score if he was passed 3rd base... it was called fan interference. The Marlins would go on to retire the side without Blanco advancing.. so if called properly the Giants never score.

Someone explain this to me? Were the Marlins hosed here?
__________________
For My Up to Date Inventory Please Check My Ebay Store: http://stores.ebay.com/Jeremys-Sports-Cards-and-Coins
Imac7065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Ajax1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hatfield, PA
Posts: 12,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imac7065 View Post
Right now the Marlins and Giants are playing in the 11th... but I feel the Marlins already won this game and don't understand why it's still going on...

Back in the 5th Gregor Blanco hit was would appear to be a ground rule double.. but it was ruled fan interference... what boggles my mind is Barry Zito was on FIRST... yet allowed to score on this play. It wasn't a ground rule double which would allow him to score if he was passed 3rd base... it was called fan interference. The Marlins would go on to retire the side without Blanco advancing.. so if called properly the Giants never score.

Someone explain this to me? Were the Marlins hosed here?
The base that the runner already on base goes to is up to the discretion of the umpires. If it is assumed that he would have scored on the play, then they let the run count, and the batter goes to second as a double.

If it was a true ground rule double, then the runner on 1st would have had to go back to 3rd, but since there was fan interference, the umpires have to discuss what would have happened, as the play naturally wouldn't have been a ground rule double.
__________________
Evan Longoria Supercollector!
980 different cards and counting!
ALWAYS Looking for Longoria cards I don't have!
Ajax1723 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Imac7065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajax1723 View Post
The base that the runner already on base goes to is up to the discretion of the umpires. If it is assumed that he would have scored on the play, then they let the run count, and the batter goes to second as a double.

If it was a true ground rule double, then the runner on 1st would have had to go back to 3rd, but since there was fan interference, the umpires have to discuss what would have happened, as the play naturally wouldn't have been a ground rule double.
The ball went over the wall.. it would have been a ground rule double.


Total BS now as the Giants just won the game. I hope the Marlins protest
__________________
For My Up to Date Inventory Please Check My Ebay Store: http://stores.ebay.com/Jeremys-Sports-Cards-and-Coins
Imac7065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Metsfan1121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 3,464
Default

The umpires estimate if the runner would've scored if there were no interference, they decided he would've.
Metsfan1121 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
MarshallCutler6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imac7065 View Post
The ball went over the wall.. it would have been a ground rule double.


Total BS now as the Giants just won the game. I hope the Marlins protest
Fan reached over the wall, the ground rule double cant be assumed, therefore, what Ajax said is correct.
__________________
Collecting anything that interests me.
#TeamConnor
MarshallCutler6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Ajax1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hatfield, PA
Posts: 12,222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imac7065 View Post
The ball went over the wall.. it would have been a ground rule double.


Total BS now as the Giants just won the game. I hope the Marlins protest
It doesn't matter if it would have, the fan interfering negated the ground rule double call. If that fan had just chilled and let the ball naturally go over, the Ground Rule double rule would have applied.

Same thing as when a fan reaches down to get a ball that is fair and someone in the first row reaches down with his mitt and grabs the ball of the ground. Ground Rule Double, but since it wasn't a natural one, the umpires must decide to the best of their ability where the runners would have gotten to if the play was allowed to be played out.
__________________
Evan Longoria Supercollector!
980 different cards and counting!
ALWAYS Looking for Longoria cards I don't have!
Ajax1723 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 07:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
MetDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 4,185
Default

mlb rules ground rule double fan interference - Google Search


---
Rule 3.16: Spectator Interference on Batted Ball | Close Call Sports and the Umpire Ejection Fantasy League

Rule 3.16 specifically addresses the issue of spectator interference, prescribing the following course of remedy:

When there is spectator interference with any thrown or batted ball, the ball shall be dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference

--
Ground rule double - BR Bullpen

This rigid awarding of bases distinguishes automatic doubles from fan interference, in which the umpire is free to award as many bases to each player as he deems the player would have attained without the interference.

--
Interference (baseball) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The ball becomes dead, and the umpire will award any bases or charge any outs that, in his judgment, would have occurred without the interference.
__________________
2008 Topps Chrome Red Refractor SET #'d/25 98.8% complete!
NEED THESE 4 - PLEASE LMK!!!
55 Orlando Hudson,150 Homer Bailey,191 Edinson Volquez, MHRC536 Mantle HR #536
MetDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Copyright 2013, Blowout Cards Inc.