Blowout Cards Forums
New Categories

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

COINS & CURRENCY Post your coins, currency, & precious metals hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Looking to begin a collection in Silver, where should I start?

I am looking to start a "career" into collecting silver mainly but also gold too. I'm currently a college student, but i'd like to have something to invest in. Cards is great, but its just the chance of hitting something big.

I have a few items that are silver, Quarters, Sitting/mercury/barber, War Nickles, Walking Half dollars, Benjamin Half. Mostly got them from looking through loose change or my uncle.

Where is a good place to get silver from? Any "Trustable" websites/companies besides Ebay? What should I look for? I'm currently an Economics major, so I know the importance of investing, and business cycles, from what I can see the market is going down, but will eventually pick back up.

Anyone open to card deals for silver btw?

Thanks
TexAggie_2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 02:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

I've used Apmex (American Precious Metals Exchange) in the past and they are solid. Might not be the cheapest, but they deliver without any hassle. You will get your best buys on eBay, but you need to be careful. Buy only from folks with solid feedback. GL!
webb_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 02:18 AM   #3 (permalink)

My suggestion is to find a local store near you. Go in and take a look at whats out there and see how the store owner is. Its always better to buy from a store that you can trust.

As far as collecting you need to decide if you want coins that have numismatic value or bullion value. If numismatic value is what you want I would suggest a classic series.