Blowout Cards Forums
ebay event 8.25.14

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

COINS & CURRENCY Post your coins, currency, & precious metals hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Gold or Silver

I have a question for all of you who have had experience with the ups and downs of precious metals. I have been buying gold here and there for the last 2 years. At this point I have about 9 ounces. When silver was at $20 an ounce I started thinking of converting the gold to silver. What are your thoughts. I really like those 100 oz silver bars. I also thought of focusing on silver and not so much on gold from this point on so I don't have all of my eggs in one basket. At this point it is an investment for my retirement. I have a 401k at work but the way that has been going I will never see retirement, which I am hoping to do in about 25 years. Any advice is much appreciated.
hearseguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:30 AM   #2 (permalink)

The big thing with swapping gold for silver and vice versa, is to know the GSR(Gold to Silver ratio) right now it is around 58. 58 ounces of silver for 1 oz of gold. It has been as high as 83, and as low as 31 for the last 10 year period, but going further back in history it was around 12-15 ounces of silver to gold.

Since you own gold you want to wait until this number is as high as possible. I would usually start trying to swap the two when the GSR hits 61 or 62.

And your best bet is to own both gold and silver, they both have their beneifts and shortcomings, but it is great to own both of them. Gold is a little more stable than Silver, but the potential win fall will be greater with Silver, if it takes off(due to supply) like it should.