Blowout Cards Forums
Summer Sale

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

COINS & CURRENCY Post your coins, currency, & precious metals hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2013, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Silver/Gold coin newbie

so i was never interested in silver or gold coins, i figured you can only obtain them from the Mint...but I then I accidentally found out that silver quarters nickels and dimes could be in our 'piggybanks' or couch based on the years...I was shocked to say the least. So i'd look for months nothing...look like a bum/crackhead on the streets looking for change...nothing. Then I saw a suggestion to pick up a roll of half dollars at the bank.

I picked up three half dollar rolls and only found two...and they were 40%, bummed no 63's, but better than nothing....

just thought i'd share...any suggestions or comments to help a newbie out? I'm a complete noob...I don't want specific items or years like certain "stackers" just affordable items i can get my hands on...any advice?
Old 10-31-2013, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Send a message via MSN to Texans81 Send a message via Yahoo to Texans81

well first of all, the idea that you can only get the coins from the mint is wrong. there are several reputable online retailers that sell gold and silver coins of all different sorts. APMEX is probably one of the larger and better known ones. might give them a look
Old 10-31-2013, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)

thanks, but what the heck is a PAMP bar? hahahahaha
Old 10-31-2013, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)

Buy European Silver Online | Buy Pamp Suisse (Silver Bars & Pendants) | APMEX.com
Old 10-31-2013, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)

thanks texans...what about 999.9 FINE GOLD...is that always considered 24K?
Old 10-31-2013, 08:00 PM   #6 (permalink)

yep... that's as good as it gets
Old 10-31-2013, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)