Blowout Cards Forums
Summer Sale

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

COINS & CURRENCY Post your coins, currency, & precious metals hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2014, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Where do you sell your metals?

Im a newbie when it comes to purchasing precious metals and I see all these sites for buying them, but when the time comes where do you sell them?

Ebay seems way out of the question because of fees.
Old 02-13-2014, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)

craigslist, Apmex, local coin shops etc. Pretty much any place you can buy metals, you can also sell. Ebay is a last resort for sure...at least for me.
webb_jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by webb_jr View Post
craigslist, Apmex, local coin shops etc. Pretty much any place you can buy metals, you can also sell. Ebay is a last resort for sure...at least for me.
interesting, do the coin shops usually pay at spot?
Old 02-14-2014, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by howethegreat View Post
interesting, do the coin shops usually pay at spot?
nobody pays spot because these are all businesses.

Pawn shops are going to offer you some of your worst premium/spread from spot. You best bet is if you have any precious metals refineries local to you.

Most of the big precious metals dealers are going to have anywhere from a 15%-28% spread on their buyback.

Always buying Iron Man 55, Captain Marvel 33, Avengers Annual #7, Various other Bronze Age Thanos appearances.
Carrbeaz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)

Actually ebay is a great place to sell but not to buy because of fakes. Its good to sell because people will pay way over spot and that will cover the ebay fees.
Wickedroller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2014, 05:27 AM   #6 (permalink)