Blowout Cards Forums
Metro Sports Cards

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > COINS & CURRENCY

COINS & CURRENCY Post your coins, currency, & precious metals hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2014, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Beginner Questions About Silver???

I am just getting into this hobby. I have a few questions.

1. How predictable is the rise and fall of the price of silver?

2. Is now the time to invest/stash?

3. Why does silver rise and fall?
Old 07-09-2014, 09:17 AM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by abbottbowden28 View Post
1. How predictable is the rise and fall of the price of silver?
It is not.

Quote:
2. Is now the time to invest/stash?
It is not so much an investment as it is a hedge against inflation. You need to be able to put money into it that you won't need to access for years.

Quote:
3. Why does silver rise and fall?
There are two schools of thought. One school believes the market is manipulated by some grand-Illuminati type corporation, an all powerful Oz behind a curtain. There may be some truth to that, but at the end of the day silver is a commodity, and as such value changes according to:

A. Supply. If a giant vein of silver were found in New Jersey that would add several million tons of silver to the market, that would depress value because of supply and demand.

B. Demand. If the Iphone6 needs a lot of silver to make it go and there is a huge demand for that Iphone, Apple would buy more silver than normal and that would increase demand. Higher demand means higher prices.

C. Currency Value. Every month, the Fed has been pumping $75 billion into our economy to keep up this farce of an economic recovery. Every month there are more dollars chasing the same amount of commodities. At some point inflation hits, probably in 2018 and then Katie bar the door.
frozenntimesports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)