Blowout Cards Forums
Halloween

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS OTHER HOBBY TALK > ComicBookJunkie

ComicBookJunkie Post your comic hobby talk here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2013, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default A question about getting sketch covers

So I have recently been looking into getting some sketch covers done. The problem is I have never done this before and I'm hoping someone can offer me some advice.

Do I just contact the artist online and ask for a sketch cover or do I have to send them the book first? I'm also thinking about attending NYCC this year. Does it make sense to carry a bunch of blank covers? And what is the proper way to get sketches, should I carry some artwork for references? And if there is anything else to note please chime in, thanks in advance.
sportzking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)

There are actually a couple of people here who are artists who setup at shows who might be able to shed some light onto this for you. I know both Ted Dastick Jr and Jason Adams both have spent time at conventions, but each artist is unique, but hopefully they can point you in the right direction.

Taking blanks to a show is a perfect item to get sketched on, especially if CGC is there to encapsulate and grade the book for you, makes for a killer collectible.
Old 07-28-2013, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)

Conventions are a great place to get sketches. But most likely, you'll need your own blank cover. From my experience, if it's a character that the artists draws often you won't need a reference. But it doesn't hurt to bring one anyways. What's nice is that now artists can do a quick search on Google for a character to get an idea of what to draw.