Blowout Cards Forums
Advertise On Forum

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > HOCKEY

HOCKEY Post your HOCKEY Cards Hobby Talk

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2008, 12:36 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New Hockey Fan/Collector Question

I am just getting into collecting hockey cards and I was wondering what a good product is that holds its value pretty well. I initially wanted to go with SP Authentic or Artifacts but I don't know how those could play out. Any suggestions?
jaytee11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 12:38 AM   #2 (permalink)

These guys love The Cup. I haven't got back into yet, but I hear it a lot.
Zerokruel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 08:55 AM   #3 (permalink)

Yeah The Cup is great if a new collector wants to spend $400 or more on one pack of cards, but since he's most likely looking for something mid-range with decent hits and value I say go for SPA. You should get 3 autos in every box including a rookie and there have been a lot of great boxes busted so far.
Inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 09:15 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inferno View Post
Yeah The Cup is great if a new collector wants to spend $400 or more on one pack of cards, but since he's most likely looking for something mid-range with decent hits and value I say go for SPA. You should get 3 autos in every box including a rookie and there have been a lot of great boxes busted so far.
You are correct, it's probably a tad bit pricey for starting out.
Zerokruel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 10:28 AM   #5 (permalink)

I would take Artifacts over SPA. Three Memorabilia and 1 auto per box. There is a good potential for a nice patch card too, maybe even one in need of medical assistance.

I think there is more value in it because the three autos you could get in SPA could really suck.
Old 06-09-2008, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)