Blowout Cards Forums
bronx blaster aaron judge

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > GENERAL INFORMATION AREA > News & Announcements

News & Announcements Case Deals! and General Info about the Hobby

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2009, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
blowoutcards's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9,039
Default Doug Harvey, Whitey Herzog elected to hall of fame by veterans committee

Doug Harvey, Whitey Herzog elected to hall of fame by veterans committee

INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- Doug Harvey, a five-time World Series umpire, and Whitey Herzog, a six-time division winner and manager of the 1982 World Series champion St. Louis Cardinals, were elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame at Baseball’s Winter Meetings in Indianapolis by the Hall of Fame Veterans Committee for Managers and Umpires, it was announced today.
Doug Harvey and Whitey Herzog were elected by the Veterans Committee to the Class of 2010 at the Hall of Fame. (National Baseball Hall of Fame Library)

Harvey, who umpired in the National League for 31 seasons and was named to six All-Star Game crews, received 15 of a possible 16 votes. Herzog, who led the Kansas City Royals to three straight American League West titles from 1976-78 before leading the St. Louis Cardinals to the 1982 World Series title and the 1985 and 1987 NL pennants, received 14 of 16 votes. Eight managers and two umpires were considered by the 16-member Committee during meetings held Sunday at Baseball’s Winter Meetings in Indianapolis. Twelve votes were necessary to gain the 75 percent necessary for election.

Harvey and Herzog will be enshrined July 25, 2010, as part of the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held in Cooperstown, NY. The two newest members of the Baseball Hall of Fame will be joined by any electees who emerge from the Baseball Writers’ Association of America voting, with results announced on January 6.

“We are proud and honored to welcome Doug Harvey and Whitey Herzog into the Hall of Fame family,” said Hall of Fame Chairman of the Board Jane Forbes Clark. “Both Doug and Whitey demonstrated the quest for excellence that embodies each of our 291 Hall of Famers. We are thrilled to have them in Cooperstown.”

Results of the 2009 Managers/Umpires Ballot (12 votes needed for election): Doug Harvey (15 votes, 93.8 percent), Whitey Herzog (14 votes, 87.5 percent), Danny Murtaugh (8 votes, 50 percent), Hank O’Day (8 votes, 50 percent), Charlie Grimm (3 votes, 18.8%). Davey Johnson, Tom Kelly, Billy Martin, Gene Mauch and Steve O’Neill each received less than 3 votes.

The Veterans Committee for Managers and Umpires consisted of Hall of Famers Jim Bunning, Tommy Lasorda, Eddie Murray, Phil Niekro, Tony Perez, Robin Roberts, Ryne Sandberg, Ozzie Smith, Billy Williams and Dick Williams; former executive Jim Frey; current executives Roland Hemond (Diamondbacks) and Bob Watson (Major League Baseball); and veteran writers Tim Kurkjian (ESPN), Jack O’Connell (BBWAA) and Tom Verducci (Sports Illustrated).

The Veterans Committee for Executives and Pioneers also considered 10 candidates for election to the Hall of Fame in 2010. No candidate on that ballot received the necessary 75 percent of all ballots cast needed for Hall of Fame election. Former Detroit Tigers executive John Fetzer received eight votes, the highest total of any of the 10 candidates.

Results of the 2009 Executives/Pioneers Ballot (9 votes needed for election): John Fetzer (8 votes, 66.7%), Marvin Miller (7 votes, 58.3%), Jacob Ruppert (7 votes, 58.3%), Ewing Kauffman (6 votes, 50 percent). Gene Autry, Sam Breadon, Bob Howsam, John McHale, Gabe Paul and Bill White each received less than 3 votes.

The Veterans Committee for Executives and Pioneers consisted of Hall of Famers Robin Roberts and Tom Seaver; former executive John Harrington (Red Sox); current executives Jerry Bell (Twins), Bill DeWitt (Cardinals), Bill Giles (Phillies), David Glass (Royals), Andy MacPhail (Orioles) and John Schuerholz (Braves); and veteran media members Rick Hummel (St. Louis Post-Dispatch), Hal McCoy (Dayton Daily News) and Phil Pepe (New York Daily News).

The two Veterans Committees who consider managers and umpires and executives and pioneers will consider candidates again in 2011 for the 2012 Induction year. Eligible players whose big league careers began after 1942 will next have their candidacy reviewed again in 2010 for the 2011 Induction year, while eligible players whose big league careers began prior to 1943 will next have their candidacy reviewed in 2013 for the 2014 Induction year.

FAN SUPPORT: Fans wishing to voice their opinion in support of their favorite candidates may do so in two ways: by sending a single letter to Hall of Fame Veterans Committee, 25 Main Street, Cooperstown, NY 13326, or by logging on to and sending an e-mail. The Hall of Fame does not forward petitions to the voting members, but makes all correspondence known to any interested voting members, as well as to the Screening Committee members and Historical Overview Committee members.

Baseball Hall of Fame - News - 2010 Veterans Committee Results
blowoutcards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast Kansas
Posts: 12,311

Hearing those names brings back memories from my early childhood while following the Royals when they were good. I'm glad they both made it.

It sure was fun beating Whitey in the 1985 World Series.
mwheeler27 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Copyright © 2013, Blowout Cards Inc.