Blowout Cards Forums
Black Friday 2014

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > COMMUNITY > Off Topic

Off Topic This section may contain threads that are NSFW. This section is given a bit of leeway on some of the rules and so you may see some mild language and even some risqué images. Please no threads about race, religion, politics, or sexual orientation. Please no self promotion, sign up, or fundraising threads.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2009, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default Does anyone have FIOS

I was thinking about switching to a Verizon Bundle package i was told FIOS runs off a battery package which runs off electricity. I was wondering if this runs up the electricity bill or does it use minimal electricity.
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Dobber2330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oswego, IL
Posts: 2,526
Default

It uses so little that you will never even know that it is on.

It has a battery back up as part of the product to prevent power surges
Dobber2330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
hockeyjunkie99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tampa Bay Area, FL
Posts: 11,201
Default

I heard the internet service is slow most of the times.
__________________
-NICK

checkoutmycards.com/Users/hockeyjunkie99
hockeyjunkie99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
jbellis74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Worth Fla Hearts still in NYC
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via AIM to jbellis74
Default

My electric bill hasnt gone up since switching to FIOS.

Def not slow HJ. I hit speeds over 2 megs regularly

We love our FIOS lol
__________________
On any given Sunday you're gonna win or you're gonna lose. The point is - can you win or lose like a man?
jbellis74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

Well i'm 1 month away from ending my 2 year Directv HD contract so i figured by switching to FIOS i could save money
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
Cincy Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default

Fios is good, the tv is good, but the internet is not as good as they say it is.
__________________
Predictions to 2009: 2009 World Series Champions Cincinnati Reds, 09 WS MVP Joey Votto
Best Pulls of 2009: 2008 UD Sweet Spot Junior Bat barrel auto 13/135, 2008 UD Sweet Spot David Ortiz Bat Barrel Auto 7/10, 2009 UD SPX Hanley Ramirez 4 color patch auto numbered 1/23, 2008 UD Sweet Spot Yaz bat barrel auto numbered 15/15, 2008 SPA Football 4 Color Patch auto Joe Flacco
Cincy Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
fm8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 6,237
Send a message via AIM to fm8418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbellis74 View Post
My electric bill hasnt gone up since switching to FIOS.

Def not slow HJ. I hit speeds over 2 megs regularly

We love our FIOS lol
2megs...wow I couldn't live with that. I can hit 25
fm8418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

Is HRTV a free channel there package lineups are confusing seem to leave out alot of channels
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
caltek3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: victorville, CA
Posts: 1,490
Default

what cable service do you have in your area?. they have descent packages...i know here where i am at we have 16 meg for internet i only pay for 10 though...but they bundle phone cable and internet for a descent price.
__________________
rip papajim
caltek3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 07:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
ND3
Member
 
ND3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In a Hospital Near You!
Posts: 11,830
Default

Just got Fios. It is awesome! Wicked fast. As Dobber said the battery back up is put into place to protect from power surges and to allow you to still have phone service in the event of a power outage. Battery will last 9-12 hours.
__________________
Maybe if I stick your head through that window over there you'll get unconfused. Give me the feckkin money. -- Nicky Santoro
http:/www.photobucket.com/nd3
ND3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 06:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Member
 
redsoxx11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: TACO BELL BATHROOM
Posts: 3,463
Default

Just make sure you have the guy set up every computer you want connected to that network. My folks have it and we stayed with them for a while, we never got our notebooks to connect wirelessly. But it is fast, great for WOW :P
redsoxx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 06:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

I was just talking to my neighbor he has had FIOS for over 2 years now and he signed up at the guaranteed 2 Years for $99.00 a month now his Bill is over $200 a month. That was my point when calling FIOS they never would answer the question what happens when the guaranteed deal is up.
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 08:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Member
 
jbellis74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Worth Fla Hearts still in NYC
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via AIM to jbellis74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill22 View Post
I was just talking to my neighbor he has had FIOS for over 2 years now and he signed up at the guaranteed 2 Years for $99.00 a month now his Bill is over $200 a month. That was my point when calling FIOS they never would answer the question what happens when the guaranteed deal is up.
When the deal is up you need to call them and basically say "hey im going to the competition if you dont renew my rate at whatever your paying now"

There are so many different cable options out there that they should say ok. I am getting the multi-room DVR for free for the first year. Thats normally 19.99. That thing has saved me countless fights with the wife over whats going to be watched on which TV.
__________________
On any given Sunday you're gonna win or you're gonna lose. The point is - can you win or lose like a man?
jbellis74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 08:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Member
 
jbellis74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Worth Fla Hearts still in NYC
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via AIM to jbellis74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsoxx11 View Post
Just make sure you have the guy set up every computer you want connected to that network. My folks have it and we stayed with them for a while, we never got our notebooks to connect wirelessly. But it is fast, great for WOW :P
You really shouldnt need them to set up your network. The wireless router that they supply you with has the WEP key right on it.

You should just be able to type that key in when your laptop(s) request it.
__________________
On any given Sunday you're gonna win or you're gonna lose. The point is - can you win or lose like a man?
jbellis74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 08:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default Deal

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbellis74 View Post
When the deal is up you need to call them and basically say "hey im going to the competition if you dont renew my rate at whatever your paying now"

There are so many different cable options out there that they should say ok. I am getting the multi-room DVR for free for the first year. Thats normally 19.99. That thing has saved me countless fights with the wife over whats going to be watched on which TV.
Yup your rite i am on the phone with them rite now
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 09:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Member
 
jbellis74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Worth Fla Hearts still in NYC
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via AIM to jbellis74
Default

Good deal!
__________________
On any given Sunday you're gonna win or you're gonna lose. The point is - can you win or lose like a man?
jbellis74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 02:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member
 
fm8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 6,237
Send a message via AIM to fm8418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbellis74 View Post
When the deal is up you need to call them and basically say "hey im going to the competition if you dont renew my rate at whatever your paying now"

There are so many different cable options out there that they should say ok. I am getting the multi-room DVR for free for the first year. Thats normally 19.99. That thing has saved me countless fights with the wife over whats going to be watched on which TV.
in my area there's 1 cable option, then satellite
fm8418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 03:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Member
 
jbellis74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lake Worth Fla Hearts still in NYC
Posts: 5,436
Send a message via AIM to jbellis74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fm8418 View Post
in my area there's 1 cable option, then satellite
Yikes, thats no good!
__________________
On any given Sunday you're gonna win or you're gonna lose. The point is - can you win or lose like a man?
jbellis74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 03:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Member
 
fm8418's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ohio
Posts: 6,237
Send a message via AIM to fm8418
Default

there's 3 cable companies a town over. All I get is crappy Timewarner
fm8418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 07:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Member
 
cardsrus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bloomington, Illinois
Posts: 1,325
Default

For anyone ordering FIOS make sure you tell them NOT to take out your old wiring! If you do not tell them they will pull the copper wiring and you will be stuck with that service.
__________________
http://www.checkoutmycards.com/Users/cardsrus1

Buying 2002-03 BAP Signature Series Short Print autos I need.
I can always be contacted through AOL.com
cardsrus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

I have had FIOS for 5 days now and one thing i have noticed i have to crank the Volume on my Surround System up to 45 to get a good listening level. on Directv around 30 was fine.
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:30 PM   #22 (permalink)
Moderator
 
pskell02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Montclair, NJ
Posts: 15,749
Send a message via AIM to pskell02
Default

Not sure if this is the same situation, but I had a similar problem with my old Time Warner box. I realized that the volume on the box was turned down really low. Check and see if yours has a volume control and try and adjust that.
__________________
Looking for - Nick Kingham, Blake Taylor, Gregory Polanco, and Alen Hanson
pskell02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 08:35 PM   #23 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

Yup tried that, i have gone to home theater blogs and read page after of people in the same boat
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:37 AM   #24 (permalink)
Member
 
Bill22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 5 Towns, NY
Posts: 1,015
Default

I finally fixed the sound level, the FIOS remote menu has various levels on the volume control had to set it to dynamic range which allows me to keep the surround level below 30
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Copyright © 2013, Blowout Cards Inc.