Blowout Cards Forums
Holiday Madness

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > COMMUNITY > Off Topic

Off Topic This section may contain threads that are NSFW. This section is given a bit of leeway on some of the rules and so you may see some mild language and even some risqué images. Please no threads about race, religion, politics, or sexual orientation. Please no self promotion, sign up, or fundraising threads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question Is anyone good with student loan re-payment information?

I just got off the phone for an hour and literally have a headache.

And I still am confused exactly how things work.

I'll use my current situation, plus theoretical numbers here for reference.

I began my undergrad degree in 2002, and at that time I took out loans for some of my tuition costs.

I graduated in 2009 (took a year off in-between, and a few part-time semesters).

In 2010 I began my graduate program, and just graduated in May, 2012.

I now know that after deferment, repayment will be a major issue.

I have an EXTREMELY low-paying job, and I qualify for the Income Contingency Plan (or something like that), so they were telling my my monthly payment will be $70/month now.

Here is how my accounts work (same setup, but theoretical numbers).

(4) Accounts:

#1 - $22,000

--Group A (2.390%)

#2 - $15,000

--Group B (2.390%)

#3 - $18,000

--Group C (6.8%)

#4 - $25,000

--Group D (6.8%)

I believe the first 2 accounts were un-subsidized and the last two aren't? Or something like that? I'm not really sure!

I called the Loan Consolidation department because I figured it would be beneficial to simplify my accounts/payments.

That is when everything got confusing.

Based off the numbers, say the interest rate given under consolidation is going to be 4.9% (Including being under the Income Contingency Plan)

Is that good? Is that worthwhile?

She said that interest accrues daily.