Blowout Cards Forums
Shop for NFL Draft Class of 2014 Nike Jerseys and New Era Draft Caps at NFLShop.com

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > COMMUNITY > Off Topic

Off Topic This section may contain threads that are NSFW. This section is given a bit of leeway on some of the rules and so you may see some mild language and even some risqué images. Please no threads about race, religion, politics, or sexual orientation. Please no self promotion, sign up, or fundraising threads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default So I bought a Storage Unit at an Auction

So, I decided to take the fam to a storage unit auction down the road last wed. or thur. It was on a whim, kind of, but I just had to. I'm a sucker for the shows. My goal was to at least *bid* one time on something. I was not planning on buying anything. Mainly because:

1) I'm a newbie, and didn't expect to buy a unit until my 3-5th time.
2) We have limited garage space
3) How the heck are we going to transport it? That would be a lot of work.

So anyway, there were 11 units up for auction, or so, and 20 people there. It looked like there were not many newbies, so I thought I could learn quite a bit.

The auctioneer had a cowboy hat on, which was a plus, and a fast talker. That alone was enough for me to go

On our way, we saw a lady selling some things out of her unit, so my wife and I split off for a few minutes to see what she had. My wife has a good eye for kiddo things, so she went ahead and made a deal with a lady. She spent $80 with her, and it looks like we'll pull $250 profit out of it all!

Well, the next to last locker, I saw some things that I liked, and it was like a switch turned on from "I don't stand a chance...I'm just a rookie" to "Anything below $450 and this is MINE!"

Well, I got it for $375!!!! ;D