Blowout Cards Forums

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > RACING, GOLF & OTHER SPORTS

RACING, GOLF & OTHER SPORTS Post your Other Sports Hobby Talk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2012, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
pkscards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 983
Default Jordyn Wieber/Aly Raisman

SPOILER ALERT:

Kind of a big upset within Team USA as Aly Raisman qualified for the individual all-around final instead of Jordyn, the defending world champion.

Considering last I checked Jordyn autographs were selling at about double the price of Aly's, will be interesting to see how prices change. Probably would have been a good thing if you were stocking up on Aly autos at $40 a piece!
__________________
Boston Red Sox 2013 World Series Champions!
pkscards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,605
Default

Is Wieber out from all the events or is she still able to win medals?
messier2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
John91C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 4,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by messier2 View Post
Is Wieber out from all the events or is she still able to win medals?
She can still win individual events but not the all-around. The all-around is where she was supposed to dominate and get Gold. I think this will hurt the resale value of her olympic cards!
__________________
Photobucket (not always up to date): http://s160.photobucket.com/albums/t199/John91C/
John91C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John91C View Post
She can still win individual events but not the all-around. The all-around is where she was supposed to dominate and get Gold. I think this will hurt the resale value of her olympic cards!
it sounds like she got shafted. She would have qualified but you can only have 2 athletes from one country competing in all around, and she was 3rd for the usa.
jr24ai3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John91C View Post
She can still win individual events but not the all-around. The all-around is where she was supposed to dominate and get Gold. I think this will hurt the resale value of her olympic cards!
Oh, ok thanks.
messier2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member
 
John91C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 4,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jr24ai3 View Post
it sounds like she got shafted. She would have qualified but you can only have 2 athletes from one country competing in all around, and she was 3rd for the usa.
I haven't seen the coverage but I doubt she got shafted...the rules have always been the top 2 from each. If she placed 3rd than don't see how she got shafted...unless you are saying the judges are on the take?
__________________
Photobucket (not always up to date): http://s160.photobucket.com/albums/t199/John91C/
John91C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member
 
JohnAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ZOO York!
Posts: 5,490
Default

Not at all fair to say she got shafted...Raisman killed it and that's why she's moving on. In the end, it was very close between those two and Douglas -- Wieber just barely missed it.
__________________
Fan of the Yankees and Syracuse Hoops.
JohnAndrew is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member
 
Deathgate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bolivia, NC
Posts: 1,690
Default

Jordan will also be helping the US Gymnastics try for team gold, in addition to her individual events, just not the all-around. Which did surprise a lot of people.
__________________
My Sketch Card Collection: http://www.sketchcollectors.com/gallery.php?user_id=39

I am a network admin. If you see me laughing, pray you have a recent backup.
Deathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 04:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John91C View Post
I haven't seen the coverage but I doubt she got shafted...the rules have always been the top 2 from each. If she placed 3rd than don't see how she got shafted...unless you are saying the judges are on the take?
I just meant the rule shafted her. Obviously her teammates deserved to be there since they scored higher. But when you are 4th overall out of all the gymnasts, you should not be replaced by the 25th or 26th best. It's just a dumb rule.
jr24ai3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO
Copyright 2013, Blowout Cards Inc.