Blowout Cards Forums
Advertise On Forum

Go Back   Blowout Cards Forums > BLOWOUTS HOBBY TALK > VINTAGE

VINTAGE Post your Vintage Cards Hobby Talk (pre-1980's)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 09:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to Vintage - any advice?

I decided to refocus my PC on Vintage graded PSA 7 or better. I have a fairly large current PC, but I'm getting bored with it, so decided to switch it up. I'm going to try for PSA 7 or better for HOFers from 50s, 60s, 70s. Was going to try to get Aaron, Mays, Mantle, Clemente, Rose, Maris, Kaline, and a few others from each set. Any advice? I'm new to Vintage. Would it make more sense to go for PSA 8? What are some things I should look for? I'm starting with 67 Topps Baseball.
rauchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)

Dont do psa or graded cards, takes away the point of collecting vintage.
Pending Deals:
Ivanrf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Approved Group Break Host

Send a message via AIM to mgugs46

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivanrf1 View Post
Dont do psa or graded cards, takes away the point of collecting vintage.
Agree and disagree. I love being able to just pick up vintage commons and put them in binders and flip through and look at them all.

On the other hand - I'd be very leery of who I picked up raw HOF from - graded you know what you're getting and if you are so inclined you can crack out of the case.

Vintage psa 7 HOF will get expensive from 50's. As far as advice, I'd just say the norm - buy the card and not the grade.

Always looking for PEDRO MARTINEZ patches/autos
mgugs46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 09:33 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgugs46 View Post
Agree and disagree. I love being able to just pick up vintage commons and put them in binders and flip through and look at them all.